## S.21-77 Revised



SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY ENGAGING THE WORLD

- To: Senate
- From: Kris Nordgren, Secretary Senate Nominating Committee

Date: June 7, 2021

Subject: Senate Committee Elections

This is a summary of the nominations received and outstanding vacancies for Senate committees.

All nominations must be received by the Senate Office from the Nominating Committee in time to be included in the documentation sent out for the next Senate meeting. Senators will be informed that further nominations may be made by individual members of Senate. Any such nominations must reach the Committee Secretary the Friday before the meeting of Senate, and no further nominations will be accepted after this time. The Committee Secretary will provide members of Senate at the Senate meeting with such further nominations as may have been received. Oral nominations during the meeting of Senate will not then be allowed.

If only one nomination is received for a position, the position will be elected by acclamation. If more than one nomination is received for a position, online voting will be held during the week following the Senate meeting on Monday, June 7, 2021. An email will be sent to all Senators with information about the candidates and a link to the online voting system. Voting will be permitted for 48 hours and election results will be released within three days of the end of voting

COMMITTEE	POSITION	TERM (from June 1, 2021)	NOMINATIONS RECEIVED	CANDIDATES ELECTED/ ELECTED BY
	Faculty Senator	2 years		
CC	Student Member	1 year	Bryan Daniel; Priyanka Dhesa	
	Faculty Member	2 years		
DQAC	Undergraduate Student	1 year	Victoria Belway; Michal Oqbe; Nathaniel Tok	
	Undergraduate Student	1 year		
	Faculty Member (Business)	3 years	Geoffrey Poitras	
	Faculty Member (Education)	3 years		
	Faculty Member (Health Sciences)	3 years	Jeremy Snyder	
REB	Graduate Student Member	2 years	Caitlin Courchesne; Evan Hutcheon; Vienna Lam	
	Graduate Student Member	2 years		
	Undergraduate Student Member	2 years	Bryan Daniel; Judit Nagy	
SAB	Faculty Member	2 years	Shafik Bhalloo; Catherine D'Andrea	

	Faculty Member (Alternate)	2 years		
	Undergraduate Student	2 years	Arshdeep Bhullar	
	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	2 years		
	Senator	2 years	Lisa Shapiro	
	Senator	1 year	Colin Percival	
SCAR			Serena Bains;	
~~~~~	Student Senator	2 years	Bryan Daniel	
	Student Senator (Alternate)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator	1 year		
	Faculty Senator	1 year		
SCCS	Faculty Member	1 year		
	Senator (at-large)	2 years		
	Member of the University			
	Community (at-large)	2 years	Abdul Zahir	
	Ludananaduata Student Senaton	1	Priyanka Dhesa;	
SCEMP	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year	Abhishek Parmar	
	Graduate Student (at-large)	1 year		
	Faculty Member (Applied Sciences)	2 years	Bonnie Gray	
	Faculty Member (Arts and Social	2 years		
	Sciences)	2 years		
	Faculty Member (Communication,	2 years		
SCIA	Art and Technology)	-		
	Faculty Member (Environment)	2 years	Dongya Yang	
	Faculty Member (Health Sciences)	1 year		
		2 years	Helen Pahou;	
	Undergraduate Student (at-large)		MD Tahmid-Ul-Islam	
			Rawnak	
	Graduate Student (at-large)	2 years		
		2 years	Shafik Bhalloo;	
	Faculty Member		Dan Laitsch; Abraham Punnen;	
			Ingrid Northwood;	
			Christian Venhuizen	
	Faculty Member	2 years		
SCODA	Faculty Member (Alternate)	1 year		
SCODA	Faculty Member (Alternate)	1 year		
	Student	1 year	Abhishek Parmar	
	Student	1 year		
	Student	1 year		
	Student (Alternate)	1 year		
	Student (Alternate)	1 year		
SCUH	Faculty Senator (Applied Sciences)	3 years		
	Faculty Senator (Business)	1 year	Connie Liu	
	Faculty Senator (Communication,			
	Art and Technology)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (Education)	3 years		
		-	Thomas Budd;	
	Student (at-large)	3 years	Priyanka Dhesa;	
			Abhishek Parmar	
SCUP	Faculty Senator (Business)	1 year	Connie Liu	

<b></b>			
	Faculty Senator (Communication,	2 years	
	Art and Technology)	-	Dan Laitsch
	Faculty Senator (Education)	2 years 2 years	
	Faculty Senator (Health Sciences)		Charles Walshy
	Faculty Senator (Science)	2 years	Charles Walsby
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year	Brianna Malott
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year	Helen Pahou
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year	Abhishek Parmar
	Undergraduate Student Senator (Alternate)	1 year	
	Graduate Student Senator	1 year	
	Graduate Student Senator (Alternate)	1 year	
SCUS	Undergraduate Student	1 year	Serena Bains; Bryan Daniel; Alisa Kandikova; Abhishek Parmar
	Undergraduate Student	1 year	
	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	
	Faculty Member (Communication, Art and Technology)	3 years	Susan Clements-Vivian
	Faculty Member (Education)	3 years	Kristiina Kumpulainen
	Faculty Member (Environment)	3 years	Scott Harrison
SCUTL	Faculty Member (Health Sciences)	3 years	Mark Lechner
	Faculty Senator	3 years	John Stockie
	Undergraduate Student	1 year	Valerie Malla; Judit Nagy
	Graduate Student	1 year	
	Graduate Student	1 year	
SGAAC	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	
SGSC	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	R. Georges Gardinetti; Abdul Zahir
	Senator	2 years	Danny Leznoff
	Senator	2 years	Judit Nagy
SLC/LPAC Dual Positions	Undergraduate Student	2 years	Priyanka Dhesa; Michal Oqbe
	Graduate Student	2 years	
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	
SNC	Faculty Senator (Applied Sciences)	2 years	
	Faculty Senator (Arts and Social Sciences)	1 year	
	Faculty Senator (Business Administration)	2 years	
	Faculty Senator (Communication, Art and Technology)	2 years	
	Faculty Senator (Education)	1 year	
	Faculty Senator (Environment)	1 year	

	Faculty Senator (Health Sciences)	2 years	
	Faculty Senator (Science)	2 years	
	Student Senator	1 year	Abhishek Parmar
	Graduate Student	1 year	
	Faculty Senator	3 years	Brian Krauth
SPCSAB	Faculty Member	3 years	Petra Menz; Randall Pyke
SPCSAB/ SGAAC	Faculty Member	2 years	
	Graduate Student	1 year	
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	
SPCSAB/ SUAAC	Faculty Member	1 year	
	Undergraduate Student	1 year	Saima Chowdhury; Helen Pahou; Abhay Sahni
	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	
SUAAC	Undergraduate Student	1 year	Arshdeep Bhullar; Saima Chowdhury; Priyanka Dhesa; Helen Pahou
	Undergraduate student (alternate)	1 year	
Vice Chair of Senate	Senator	1 year	Stephen Spector

\* SCIA Faculty members: In the event that the Faculty Member is unable to attend, the Faculty Dean is authorized to appoint an alternate replacement.

CC	Calendar Committee
DQAC	Diverse Qualifications Adjudication Committee
ESC	Electoral Standing Committee
REB	Research Ethics Board
SAB	Senate Appeals Board
SCAR	Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules
SCCS	Senate Committee on Continuing Studies
SCEMP	Senate Committee on Enrolment Management and Planning
SCIA	Senate Committee on International Activities
SCODA	Senate Committee on Disciplinary Appeals
SCUH	Senate Committee on University Honours
SCUP	Senate Committee on University Priorities
SCUS	Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies
SCUTL	Senate Committee on University Teaching and Learning
SGAAC	Senate Graduate Awards Adjudication Committee
SGSC	Senate Graduate Studies Committee
SLC/LPAC	Senate Library Committee/Library Penalties Appeal Committee
SNC	Senate Nominating Committee
SPCSAB	Senate Policy Committee on Scholarships, Awards & Bursaries
SUAAC	Senate Undergraduate Awards Adjudication Committee